Editorial base

The Cochrane Common Mental Disorders Group (formerly the Depression, Anxiety and Neurosis Group) was established in 1996 and is co-ordinated by an editorial base physically located in the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York.

The editorial base is responsible for the registration and editorial processing of our systematic reviews. Working with authors throughout the review-writing process, we run searches for studies to include in reviews, check manuscripts for essential methodological and stylistic criteria, arrange peer review of draft reviews, and advise authors on how best to address feedback. Alongside our editorial work, we also engage in developmental and knowledge translation activities to ensure our reviews are answering the questions most important to users and inform decision making.

Our editorial base membership changes regularly and has a number of members including systematic reviewers, information specialists, summer interns, visiting researchers as well as the core members listed below:

Co-ordinating Editors

  • Rachel Churchill (Co-ordinating Editor), University of York, UK
  • Sarah Hetrick (Co-ordinating Editor), University of Auckland, NZ
Deputy Co-ordinating Editor
  • Nick Meader, University of York, UK
Feedback Editor
  • Peter Coventry, University of York, UK
Managing Editor
  • Jess Hendon, University of York, UK
Information Specialists
  • Sarah Dawson, University of Bristol, UK
  • Melissa Harden, University of York, UK
  • Helen Fulbright, University of York, UK 
Systematic Reviewers / Local Editors
  • David Marshall, University of York, UK
  • Lindsay Robertson, University of York, UK
  • Noortje Uphoff, University of York, UK

The editorial base team work in partnership with our broader pool of Editors

The National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) is the largest single funder of the Cochrane Common Mental Disorders Group core editorial base.